Skip to main content

Fully selective state school · Kirklees

Heckmondwike Grammar School 11+ admissions

September 2027 entryEvidence reviewed 1 October 2026

Current entrance requirements, dates and school facts with links to the official evidence used. Unknown information is labelled rather than estimated.

At a glance

Address
High Street, Heckmondwike, Yorkshire and the Humber, WF16 0AH
Year 7 admission
Mixed Year 7 admission
School type
Fully selective state school
Funding
State-funded
Day or boarding
Day school
Religion or denomination
GIAS records no applicable religious character.
Published admission number
210September 2027 entry
Academically selected places
210September 2027 entry
Preferences per offer
2.8DfE National Offer Day, September 2026 entry. This is not a pass probability.
Assessment provider
GIAS does not publish the current assessment provider.

Selection route

Assessment route not published.

Eligibility
Applicants must sit the entrance examination, meet the required selective standard, and name the school on the home local authority Common Application Form.
Score policy
English, mathematics and creative-writing papers are standardised, age-weighted and combined into a total standardised age score; the school sets the required standard and ranks qualifying candidates under the oversubscription criteria.
Registration
GIAS does not publish the current test registration URL.

Who gets priority

Published area: The school-defined mapped catchment area.

Use the permanent home on entrance-test day, or the address where the child lives for most of the time in shared care. The official FAQ currently links this map, whose file path dates from 2020. Ask admissions to confirm an exact address against the 2027 policy; map labels or a postcode district alone do not establish membership.

Open the official boundary information

Qualifying children with an EHCP naming the school are considered before the 210-place allocation. The order is selective-ability children in or previously in public care; Pupil Premium applicants; catchment residents; continuing siblings, including Sixth Form; qualifying staff children; then eligible music applicants. Remaining places use overall entrance-test performance. Residence is the permanent home on test day; shared-care residence is where the child lives for most of the time. Siblings must live at the same address under the policy definition. Staff need two years of employment at the entrance exam or recruitment to a recognised shortage post. Music requires certificated grade 2 or higher solo instrument/voice performance from an Ofqual-regulated awarding body by test day; this category is capped at 5% of offers and ranks excess eligible applicants by test score. Care-status evidence is due at registration; EHCP, SEND and premium evidence by noon on 26 June 2026; original music certificates by noon on 11 September 2026. Registration closes at noon on 22 June 2026. The determined policy rejects late registration and ranks qualified waiting-list applicants under the admission criteria throughout Year 7. A second list for children who failed or missed the test is used only if the first is empty and requires a fresh entrance test. The school's undated FAQ instead describes late consideration and an exam-rank waiting list, so confirm those conflicting statements with admissions. The policy does not specify an exact equal-score tie-break. Academic qualification alone does not guarantee an offer.

For September 2027 entry. Policy checked 2026-10-01. A priority category does not guarantee an offer.

Read the admissions policy

Applications and offers over time

DfE preferences and offers at National Offer Day. Each preference is a school named on an application; a child can name several schools. These figures describe past demand and do not predict an offer.

Heckmondwike Grammar School: National Offer Day preferences and offers
2026Preferences580Offers207Preferences per offer2.80
2025Preferences618Offers208Preferences per offer2.97
2024Preferences568Offers209Preferences per offer2.72
2023Preferences595Offers207Preferences per offer2.87
2022Preferences595Offers207Preferences per offer2.87
2021Preferences771Offers210Preferences per offer3.67
2020Preferences613Offers206Preferences per offer2.98
2019Preferences528Offers211Preferences per offer2.50
2018Preferences530Offers208Preferences per offer2.55
2017Preferences445Offers209Preferences per offer2.13
2016Preferences440Offers177Preferences per offer2.49
2015Preferences456Offers180Preferences per offer2.53
2014Preferences472Offers180Preferences per offer2.62

School identifiers are joined across documented predecessor links. Missing and suppressed values stay unpublished. Latest dataset: September 2026 entry. Checked 2026-10-01.

What the assessment covers

GIAS does not publish the current assessed subjects.

Key dates

Registration opens
GIAS does not publish the current registration opening date.
Registration deadline
GIAS does not publish the current registration deadline.
Test date
GIAS does not publish the current test dates.
CAF deadline
GIAS does not publish the current CAF deadline.
National Offer Day
GIAS does not publish the current offer date.

Every 11+ test's dates are in the 11+ dates calendar. To decide where this school goes on the application form, use the school application order planner.

Fees

Fee per term
This is a state-funded school.
Fee per year
This is a state-funded school.
Published fee context
This is a state-funded school.

Inspection context

Inspection outcomes are maintained separately and are not present in current GIAS downloads.

Practise for this school's test

Start with the subjects confirmed in the admissions sources. Topic quizzes build skills; they are not replicas of this school's entrance test.

The assessed subjects are not verified here yet. Browse general topic quizzes and check the official admissions policy before choosing practice.

We do not currently offer a reviewed timed mock matching this school's confirmed subject mix.

Try the free diagnostic to choose what to practise next.

Sample papers

Official papers for this school's test, from the school itself or the body that runs the test, linked from the publisher's own site. Trace Learn does not host copies.

Sample papers for this school
FSCE familiarisation guide for parents (2027 entry)Published byHeckmondwike Grammar School · 2026 · Familiarisation bookletSubjectsMixed subjectsAnswersno answers publishedOpens onopens on heckgrammar.co.uk
FSCE familiarisation guide for students (2027 entry)Published byHeckmondwike Grammar School · 2026 · Familiarisation bookletSubjectsMixed subjectsAnswersno answers publishedOpens onopens on heckgrammar.co.uk

Questions families ask

Which 11+ test does Heckmondwike Grammar School use?

The current official evidence does not yet publish Heckmondwike Grammar School's school-specific test details for September 2027 entry.

How many Year 7 places does Heckmondwike Grammar School have?

Heckmondwike Grammar School's published admission number is 210 for September 2027 entry.

Who is eligible to apply to Heckmondwike Grammar School?

Applicants must sit the entrance examination, meet the required selective standard, and name the school on the home local authority Common Application Form.

Are Heckmondwike Grammar School's 2027/28 oversubscription criteria published?

Qualifying children with an EHCP naming the school are considered before the 210-place allocation. The order is selective-ability children in or previously in public care; Pupil Premium applicants; catchment residents; continuing siblings, including Sixth Form; qualifying staff children; then eligible music applicants. Remaining places use overall entrance-test performance. Residence is the permanent home on test day; shared-care residence is where the child lives for most of the time. Siblings must live at the same address under the policy definition. Staff need two years of employment at the entrance exam or recruitment to a recognised shortage post. Music requires certificated grade 2 or higher solo instrument/voice performance from an Ofqual-regulated awarding body by test day; this category is capped at 5% of offers and ranks excess eligible applicants by test score. Care-status evidence is due at registration; EHCP, SEND and premium evidence by noon on 26 June 2026; original music certificates by noon on 11 September 2026. Registration closes at noon on 22 June 2026. The determined policy rejects late registration and ranks qualified waiting-list applicants under the admission criteria throughout Year 7. A second list for children who failed or missed the test is used only if the first is empty and requires a fresh entrance test. The school's undated FAQ instead describes late consideration and an exam-rank waiting list, so confirm those conflicting statements with admissions. The policy does not specify an exact equal-score tie-break. Academic qualification alone does not guarantee an offer.

What subjects should a child prepare for Heckmondwike Grammar School?

The exact assessed subjects for Heckmondwike Grammar School are not yet published in the current evidence. The preparation links are general 11+ practice, not a claim about this school's format.

How current is the information for Heckmondwike Grammar School?

Trace Learn reviewed 4 attached evidence sources by 2026-10-01. Unknown facts stay labelled and should be checked again before applying.

Sources and review record

  1. Open state-funded school fields CSV

    Department for Education. Accessed 25 August 2026. GIAS register snapshot on 25 August 2026.

  2. Admissions Arrangements (11-16)

    Heckmondwike Grammar School. Accessed 26 August 2026. September 2027 entry.

  3. ONS Postcode Directory May 2026 school-postcode centroid extract

    Office for National Statistics. Accessed 25 August 2026. ONS Postcode Directory, May 2026.

  4. Admissions Arrangements (11-16)

    Heckmondwike Grammar School. Accessed 1 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

Explore the verified directory

Turn the shortlist into a preparation plan

Start with a free four-subject diagnostic, then focus practice on the skills that need attention.